9th Gen Civic Forum banner

From BMW's to '12 Civic EX Sedan

9K views 48 replies 17 participants last post by  bluestar 
#1 · (Edited)
I've been a long time BMW driver (M3's, Z4, and 7-Series) and I just traded out of my latest, a 2001 E38 BMW 740i Sport w/89k miles Black on Tan... for a 2012 Civic EX Sedan Silver on Gray Auto.

I went from 17mpg to 35+! I was at $90 fill-ups twice a week on the V8.

I'll miss my bimmer days... But times are changing and this was the right move for the money.

Now I just need tints, wheels and a drop... then were in business.

#6 ·
I had 30mpg all weekend on city driving and 38mpg this morning on my ride to work.

This is pretty good. But I miss my 7-series... :( It's all the little details that are now gone which I will miss the most.

Alas, this is temporary. Next year there should be a V12 8-series in my garage just for occasional driving.

#9 ·
Welcome to the 9th!
You should have kept the BMW it's hard to give it up just love the way they drive, I still have my 2001 X5 just use it for weekends and special occasions other than that it's in the garage, for every day use we drive a 2002 Acura 1.7 EL (3) Honda Civics 2002, 2005 & 2012 the MRS wants me to give up the Acura as we only need 4 cars, enjoy your new 2012 I'm liking mine especially at the gas pumps seems to take a little longer between fill ups.

#12 ·
Hah I would love to own a BMW, but I probably wouldn't be able to drive it properly on the account of them having to take my left arm and right leg :\

Welcome though!

#14 ·
I know =(
I know =(

But I was actually making payments on the 7-series since it was recently acquired and so the smart thing to do was to let it go. This way I'm not paying money for a car that's just sitting in my garage.