9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have a 13 civic si with 93 k miles on it. I was getting onto the highway and miss shifted from 3rd to 2nd and it 7k rpm on accident. After that my car started smelling like almost the breaks were on fire. I’m new to cars and I’m freaking out. Please be kind I’m still learning LOL!

·
Registered
79 Posts
downshifting accidentally to second gear, from high speeds can cause engine damage.

youre probably smelling some burnt clutch.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah now it’s smelling like it even when I drive easy I know my throw out bearing is making some noise too. So I’m wondering if my clutch is going out. I learned how to drive manual in this car and I was too easy when I was first learning

·
Registered
152 Posts
Yeah now it’s smelling like it even when I drive easy I know my throw out bearing is making some noise too. So I’m wondering if my clutch is going out. I learned how to drive manual in this car and I was too easy when I was first learning
Don't get down about it, when I started driving I'd burn clutches out pretty early. Pay attention to if the clutch starts slipping during high-load conditions. The clutch may be glazed if it slips, and you'll have to replace it.
If it got too hot, it can warp/crack the flywheel. There's a inspection cover to look at the clutch pretty easy if you can get the car in the air.

·
Registered
2012 Honda Civic LX
27 Posts