9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

I already own a 2013 Honda Civic Sedan EX Automatic (1.8L). Recently, I've been wanting to buy a manual car whether it be Honda or not doesn't matter. I know the basics and I have driven a manual car a couple of times in a parking lot so I am still relatively new to the experience. Can anyone give suggestions on what kind of car is "easiest" to learn on if that is even possible? I plan on keeping my current Civic as it is paid off and reliable. Thank you for the info!

Regards,
Jake K.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
Anything Japanese is pretty easy to drive. Most European stuff is too. I think Honda has a great shifter feel compared to its counterparts. The VW's I've had were pretty nice, and the few manual BMWs ive driven were great. American manuals usually have a pretty stiff clutch, i.e camaros and mustangs. Cobalts and cavaliers neons stuff like that are too sloppy in my opinion.

·
Truck? What truck?!
27,185 Posts
I've driven a slew of MTs, and bf's descriptions are pretty darn accurate, afaic.

My R18 5MT is a blast to drive - easy, peppy (for my wants and needs), economical - you know, the usual stuff.

Jake, are you planning on buying new or used? If new, it may be tough to find MTs in dealer showrooms, depending on model, brand, and dealer.

Drive as many different cars as you can so you can get one that is closest to what you want. Don't rush just to purchase something. Hasty decisions can be costly.

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've driven a slew of MTs, and bf's descriptions are pretty darn accurate, afaic.

My R18 5MT is a blast to drive - easy, peppy (for my wants and needs), economical - you know, the usual stuff.

Jake, are you planning on buying new or used? If new, it may be tough to find MTs in dealer showrooms, depending on model, brand, and dealer.