9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys so just wanted to start out by saying This is my 3rd Honda Civic. I bought the 2014 Civic Si W/HPT in September. Couldn't be happier. As far as DIY, this is the first thing I've done. I've never done any Plasti-dipping or spray tinting before so I'm a Novice at this.

Time: First run-3-4 hours
Second run 2 1/2 hours

Difficulty: 5
(1-10, 10 being the hardest)

Cost: 50-100$

Where Did i get my supplies: All at AutoZone

Here are my Supplies
1. Rust-Oleum Wax & tar remover
2. Rust-OleumPeel Coat Matte Black
3.Rust-Oleum Lens tint
4. Meguiars Rubbing Compound
5. 2" Orange Polymer Tape
6. Eagle One Wipe & Shine Quick Detailing Spray
7. Wooden Skewer(or Toothpick)
8. Sharp Razor blade
9. Rust-Oleum Crystal Clear Enamel
10. 2000 Grain Sandpaper(or Green kitchen Scouring pad)

And here is the What it looked like before
View attachment 255929

Anyways I started off by Cleaning All dust and dirt off The emblem and tail lights using Eagle One Wipe & Shine Quick Detailing spray.This helped my not get things to wet and have to worry about waiting to dry.

After that I used Rust-Oleum Wax & Tar Remover on My Honda Emblem and Tail Lights. I figured any wax would prevent and wreck some of the coats. Also I used the Blue Paper towels. They don't leave lint like the white ones(which i learned the hard way)...

After that I used WET 2000 Grain sand paper to VERY GENTLY scratch the tail lights. NOT the emblem. The Rubber coat on the emblem will hold itself. The reason you are making MINOR scratches on the tail lights is to give the spray tint a more porous surface to stick to. You want to make sure either you are spraying your tailights with water or keep pouring water on your sand paper.

NOTE: you can also use a green scrubbing pad found in your kitchen. Actually works just as well.

Following that I dried off my tail lights and allowed them to air dry for 10 minutes as well.