9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, i'm noob here so don't annoy about me and help me with the rules of the forum if you want to.
So, I own a 2007 Si and i'm getting a 2012 used Si with 20.000 Km(about 13k miles) and it has Hondas warranty and the problem is that i would like to give service to the engine in the dealer (Honda) because here in Mexico is the best option. Im worried about it because the first thing im planning to install is a Short Ram Intake but i dont know if a sri will avoid honda warranty. Am i going to be able to take it to honda to give it service even if i install a SRI?
Thanks and yeah, i read something about installing non honda parts in the forum but i haven't seen something specific about an intake.

·
Registered
571 Posts
There isn't a lot of purpose in installing an aftermarket intake unless you are going to also purchase a FlashPro and have the car tuned. Just an intake without a tune will get you little to no gains and has a chance of even making the car run worse or lose power.

That said I don't think they can totally void your warranty just for that. Maybe if you somehow burn up a component that is part of the intake system, such as the MAF sensor, but otherwise it won't affect much.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay men. I liked your opinion. The reason why i asked this is because i love how vtec sounds and i have been in a 9th gen si without an intake and you can't hear it as it has to be

·
Registered
8,206 Posts
Hi everyone, i'm noob here so don't annoy about me and help me with the rules of the forum if you want to.