9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings!

My name is Douglas, I'm 29 years old, and I live in Curitiba, Brazil.
I'm a Psychologist, trying to get a Master's degree. I'm a sci-fi fan, and cars are a part of my life since I was a kid.

Consider that here in Brazil, most of our cars are european projects... My first car was a 1991 Fiat Uno 1.6R. This car was equipped with a 4 cylinder 1.6 liter engine, weber carburettor, about 86hp and alcohol (ethanol) powered :

I had this car for almost 8 years, never let me down. Once, I arrived home with only 2 cylinders, but it got me home!

Then, it became very difficult to find spare parts for the Bosch ignition... Then I sold it and bought a 1994 model of the same car, but this one had Electronic Fuel Injection... An outdated Bosch LE-Jetronic Unit, designed to be "sporty" only (fuel consumption was a nightmare):

That injection proved to be a real pain in the neck (the car broke down, and needed a tow truck like 10 times in one year). Then, my mechanic convinced me that the best solution would be a new Fuel Injection System... And we installed a programmable one:

And the little 1.6 engine reached around 110hp:

It was very fun to drive, with only 800kg... But the thing that made the Uno so fun, was the same thing that made it very dangerous: It was so lightweight that trucks in the other lane could make the car almost levitate... So, I decided to get a more safe, modern car. To stay in the "Fiat Family", I sold the Uno to my mechanic (that put it in a drag race against turbocharged cars at the local race track), and bought a 2010 Punto: