9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here with a question about the green/blue bars in the dash display on both sides of the mph indicator. Just wondering if they're supposed to go back to green after an oil change. The owner's manual says they are indicators for good gas mileage. They were green when the car was bought brand new and went blue as the oil life decreased, but never turned green after the first oil change. How do you get them to back to green? No big deal but curious. At least they aren't pink or purple.

·
Registered
716 Posts
Not sure I understand. These bars change with your mpg as you drive. The more efficiently you drive the more green they are. You can set them to stay static blue in the menu options for customization if the constant change is not to your liking. The oil life should have no bearing on this tho.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I know I can change the color of the dash lights and also know that the bars are for good gas mileage, but not sure why when the car was new, putting in a full tank of gas, cruising down the highway with cruise control, oil life at 80-100%, etc. the bars were green. After a short while, they remained a constant blue. Shouldn't they go back to green when gas tank is filled, oil changed and not smashing down the go pedal?

·
that cranky admin
6,077 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I know I can change the color of the dash lights and also know that the bars are for good gas mileage, but not sure why when the car was new, putting in a full tank of gas, cruising down the highway with cruise control, oil life at 80-100%, etc. the bars were green. After a short while, they remained a constant blue. Shouldn't they go back to green when gas tank is filled, oil changed and not smashing down the go pedal?