9th Gen Civic Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Civic Si - Stock as F$&@
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I’m new to this 9th Gen Civic stuff, and I love the car so far. 6 speed manual, and great ride. Always loved the reliability of Hondas, and this car should serve the same.
However, I’m someone who does most all my own maintenance, and checks my oil, and coolant on the daily. Granted this car is super stock. No mods
How worried should I be about a 140,000 mile 9th gen head gasket giving out on me? Basically my two biggest fears on these cars are overheating, and timing ish.
As long as you’re keeping good coolant (the blue stuff) and reg maintenance as always should it even be a concern???

how reliable are these 9th gen overall when it comes to head gaskets? Is this too general??

thanks 🙏

·
Photoshop Masta
2,934 Posts
With regular maintenance and upkeep I don't think you should worry.

Like any car, things will happen, but generally a blown head gasket is a result of overheating or detonation. But that's usually in extreme cases. Just don't drive your car if you have an overheating problem.

Do what you're doing and enjoy the car! No sense in worrying about stuff that hasn't happened.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Like any car, things will happen, but generally a blown head gasket is a result of overheating or detonation. But that's usually in extreme cases. Just don't drive your car if you have an overheating problem.

Do what you're doing and enjoy the car! No sense in worrying about stuff that hasn't happened.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Noted. Yeah. I guess I am too used to Subaru drama. This is why I love Honda. They seem to be such forgiving cars lol

·
Photoshop Masta
2,934 Posts
Noted. Yeah. I guess I am too used to Subaru drama. This is why I love Honda. They seem to be such forgiving cars lol