9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Looks like it was for journalists.....
I haven't driven standard for like 10 years, would have loved to put the Si through the slalom!!:wtfo:

·
I Drive Too Much
4,526 Posts
At least the featured newbies were writers, not sure how open the event was to the general public. Glad to see this sponsored by Honda since it had been a fear of mine that they would stop producing manual transmission models in the near future.

They are all driving HFP versions of the Si Coupe, lucky people. I wonder if Honda custom tuned the ecu's to get rid of the infamous rev-hang issue. Seems like it would be easier for a newby not to have to deal with the rev-hang.

·
Registered
365 Posts
I agree about newbies and dealing with rev hang. So jealous they all got HFP!

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Registered
566 Posts
I'm a newbie and the rev hang is definitely noticeable. Would have loved to had an event like this near me before buying my Si.

·
Registered
214 Posts
yea i called up honda the other day to complain about the rev hang.. when i was learning to drive stick my brother in law who is great driving a stick kept asking me if i was reving the engine while shifting. then i let him drive it and he said shifting into second has a crazy amount of rev hang. i shift around 3k then i shift it usually goes up to like 3.2-3.3. it makes it a lot harder to shift into second smoothly

·
I Drive Too Much
4,526 Posts
Yeah take it a little higher in the rpm band before doing your shift, then intentionally pause for a second before engaging into the next gear. Watch the tach to see where it meshes the best through a little trial and error and then once you find the right destination rpm head there next time. It gets smoother after this gets to be second nature. Well at least that is how I cope with it. This is way different than the WOT technique I use for up near redline shifts.

Reactions: oldguy

·