9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
being only 45 mins away from VIR (Virginia International Raceway) I want to start running my Si every now and then.
I am a complete noob when it comes to these sorts of things and would love tips from guys that track there FWD cars.

things like should I save for high end coilovers or would the Eibach pro kit/19mm sway be enough? I also plan on a different wheel/tire set up for track days. I feel my k24 has plenty of power for now and I wouldnt wanna mess with my engine warranty anyways.

·
Registered
848 Posts
The best advice I've given to all newcomers to the track is to first try it out with the car bone stock. This will give you a chance to see and actually feel how your car behaves when driven to the limit in stock form. All the data will also give you hints on how to set up the car with modications to make it into a better car on the track.

·
Registered
303 Posts
My high performace driving coach asways said, "Be smooth"

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Pickle Hammer Power
4,294,967,287 Posts
is the auto x or drag?? im guessing auto x since your talking lowering springs or coilovers but just making sure...

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I dont believe its auto x... its a full on race track. I have seen a bunch of vids on youtube of guys running older civics out there and it looks like tons of fun.
My first time out my car will be stock. But I know that I at least want a better set of tires, these all seasons sound like there at there limits taking 25 mph turns in normal city driving.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Knowing insurence isnt going to cover a nasty wreck.. I'll be taking it very easy. But what if something happens to my engine? I plan on keeping her in the vtec range as best I can without going to crazy.