9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all,
I am new so I have some really basic questions. I currently own a 2012 taffeta white civic. It isn't driven often.. maybe twice a week... and it is parked outdoors. I only wash it once a month... (I live in an apartment).

It was washed recently and had to go through the touch-less wash "twice".. i had to use 5 microfiber cloths to wipe off the "stubborn winter yellow grime" near the bottom panels of the doors....
Since it is winter and -10 or so... it is too cold to use wax products etc...

should I wait until spring?

I am new to this so should i do the following on an odd warm day during winter:

1) wash car
2) microfiber dry it
3) claybar + detailer
4) rubbing compound on any scuffs
5) ??
6) wax

Where does the polish/sealent step go?

And what products do you guys recommend? I have some meguiars UQW laying around...

thanks a ton

·
Car Care Ambassador
1,357 Posts
hi all,
I am new so I have some really basic questions. I currently own a 2012 taffeta white civic. It isn't driven often.. maybe twice a week... and it is parked outdoors. I only wash it once a month... (I live in an apartment).

It was washed recently and had to go through the touch-less wash "twice".. i had to use 5 microfiber cloths to wipe off the "stubborn winter yellow grime" near the bottom panels of the doors.... Doing this your marring the paint .. unless you can wash with a proper mitt and a pail of soapy water your basically wet sanding the car.
Since it is winter and -10 or so... it is too cold to use wax products etc...

should I wait until spring? Yes

I am new to this so should i do the following on an odd warm day during winter:

1) wash car Take a pail of hot water and your own car wash mixed in it and use the spray rinse wand to get all the crud you can off the car. Then quickly wash the car with your stuff and then use the rinse wand to get off the soap.