9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The morning temps in Nashville have been dipping into the 50's the past few days. I've been noticing a rattling noise from the engine around 2,500-3,000RPM when the engine is cold. Sounds like valvetrain noise (valves?) and is very noticable. Once the engine is warm, the noise goes away. Anybody else notice this? Is it normal for the K24? My Mazda 4 cylinder did this too, but was less noticeable. Even though I am a new manual driver, I don't think I over-revved the engine enough to cause any damage, and if I had, the noise would happen all the time. Any input is appreciated!

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Anyone? I'm a bit concerned about this noise and wondering if I should pay the dealer a visit.

·
I Drive Too Much
4,526 Posts
You mentioned that it happens when the engine is cold. Describe your warm up routine.

·
Registered
365 Posts
No nothing to worry about. Was brought up in a thread a long long time ago when guy's engines were brand new. Mine does it too. If this is your first civic its prob new to you. I didn't know Honda has a rep for noisy valves either,but nothing to worry about

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Bluestar's winch!!
8,763 Posts
Mine makes a little more noise when cold that goes away when hot. I think it has to do with the oil that we use.

I did over-rev my car to 8500-9000 rpms back about 10,000 miles back. But, the car doesn't burn oil, runs smooth, shifts smooth, etc. It makes a little bit more noise when cold. I just sit in it and let it warm up for a few minutes before I go down the road 'cause it's quiet and purrs as much as a 4-banger can once it gets warmed up.

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You mentioned that it happens when the engine is cold. Describe your warm up routine.