9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got my 2015 Civic Si Coupe and I have been reading a lot of forums to find out about playing video while vehicle is in motion. Nobody seems to have a solution to this. I had a thought that I wanted to get some input on. Can anyone tell me if there would be any issues disconnecting the video output from the lane watch camera and connecting it to the HDMI input wire? I am not very technically inclined but it seems like this should work and it would allow toggle on/off from the turn signal button. Could somebody please elaborate on the difficulties I might face and any blocking factors that would exist if I tried this modification?

·
Registered
89 Posts
Just got my 2015 Civic Si Coupe and I have been reading a lot of forums to find out about playing video while vehicle is in motion. Nobody seems to have a solution to this. I had a thought that I wanted to get some input on. Can anyone tell me if there would be any issues disconnecting the video output from the lane watch camera and connecting it to the HDMI input wire? I am not very technically inclined but it seems like this should work and it would allow toggle on/off from the turn signal button. Could somebody please elaborate on the difficulties I might face and any blocking factors that would exist if I tried this modification?
Here are a few considerations to keep in mind about this possibility.
- The physical plugs for HDMI and the side camera are different, so you'd need to do some splicing to get this to work. IF it works.
- HDMI transfers content digitally. I do not know whether the sideview camera transfers digitally or via analong. If it is an analog signal, we'd need a converter (which also means we'd need to power the converter).