9th Gen Civic Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Question Authority
6,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I drive my Civic like it's an economy car....sanely. How many miles should the OEM tires last on a Civic if tire pressure is monitored very closely and rotations are done every 5 to 6K miles?

What air pressures do most people use? I know what the sticker says on the door frame but that isn't always the best pressure to use. I'm new to Civics. Thanks.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Don't know about longevity but from many enthusiast web sites 36 psi is the way to go.

·
Question Authority
6,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You're kidding me, right? Only one reply to this life or death question.....:WTF:

·
Registered
205 Posts
Well your questions are about longevity and economy whereas enthusiast's forums are about increasing performance. Regardless your tires should last 40 to 50K miles as long as you have a good front end alignment. There is no need to rotate them that often, I'd say every 10K miles is plenty. Like I said above 36 psi is good but you do not have to monitor it closely. A range of 34 to 37 or so is fine if you ask me. These are not Indy cars. I would say just get in and enjoy it!

·
I Drive Too Much
4,526 Posts
I run 32-34 psi and longevity depends on the tires you have. Driven sanely I would expect a minimum of 45-50,000 miles on standard all season radials. I have done over 70,000 in previous Civics myself.

·
Registered
205 Posts
And what about your question is "life or death?"

·
Registered
175 Posts
really 10k no you should do between 5 and 6k unless you drive in a straight line and never make a turn ha. i have the summer tires and hope for 25k if iam lucky, depends on if it is a v or w rated tire you will not get 50k no matter how much you baby that car. regular all-season t rated 35-40k good.

·
I Drive Too Much
4,526 Posts