9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 696 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Temple of VTEC - Honda and Acura Enthusiasts Online Forums > Civic > > Re: drove the 2012 lx sedan manual gear box today

36 mpg highway for the manual....major letdown for me.

just read this thread over at temple of vtec. i am very disappointed that they could not gear the manual for more optimal mileage.

as a manual driver i will downshift when i need more power. i dont need my manual eco box to rev at 3000 rpm at 70 mph.

hyundai got it right with their manual transmission on the elantra. nice low revs at crusing speed.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Unfortunately, most people prefer to be able to stay in the same gear while going up hills or trying to pass. My opinion is that if you don't want to downshift in these situations buy an auto, but most people seem to prefer the shorter gearing.

·
Registered
25 Posts
MPG question

First let me apologize for creating this thread. I know there are already mpg threads on this forum, but I was unable to find my answer. I want to know your average mpg, but I also want to know what transmission you have and what type of driving your doing.
I have a LX, manual transmission and with each tank my gas mileage is getting better but not where I would like to see it. I’m averaging around 36-38mpg and I believe my last tank of gas earned a total of 440 miles before I filled it up. I do a fair amount of highway and city (Pittsburgh) driving. But I feel like I could get a little better.
With that being said, does anyone who owns a Manual Transmission have any tips while driving through the city or on the highway?:eusa_think:

·
Registered
980 Posts
With that being said, does anyone who owns a Manual Transmission have any tips while driving through the city or on the highway?:eusa_think: