9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a super fast Patriot Flash Drive for music listening in my Si. When I hook it up it says, unsupported! Anyone know how to fix it? Its formatted fat32.

I was using a USB 2.0 Flash Drive by SanDisk. I had no problems with it, but the patriot drive is ridiculously fast! So I decided to use this one.
USB flash drives are backwards compatible, so this tells me its an issue with the software and/or hardware found in ours cars? Do you agree? I sure hope Honda releases an update for our i-Mid and also gives us Pandora display, sms display, etc...

·
Registered
58 Posts
Try formatting it, again? USB3.0 still retains the separate USB2.0 contact points (think of USB3.0 as a bolt-on upgrade to USB2.0).

·
Registered
48 Posts
First off. I am a professional IT guy. Just make sure when you are creating you playlist that you are putting your music for each band on the most outside portion of the drive. Don't make a folder and put it inside. Just put the band names on the outside and it should open up from there. It has a hard time looking into folders inside the USB.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Formatting FAT32 is the only way.
Dump all your mp3 files in the usb thumb drive then should be recognize or do a couple of time hotplug.

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks for all your help guys!

Fat32 - Yes it is formatted this way. I have to have all my flash drives formatted this way anyways. I work across the Mac & Windows OS's daily. I will try again, maybe a full format. I can't remember if I tried this already?

Folders - I never had any problems with folders before? I have lots of folders on my Sandisk 2.0 drives and no issues. I will however give it a shot.

Patriot - Maybe its a Patriot Memory problem? I will see what I can figure out.

Keep the thoughts and ideas coming! I appreciate it.

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·