9th Gen Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just beginning to get into autocross this year after being introduced to it last year. Looking to get a set of performance wheels and tires for it. Last year my driving was apparently pretty damn good, at least according to the instructors that rode with me. They all said that the biggest thing holding me back was tires, so I'm looking to upgrade over the stock all-seasons I have now.

Right now I'm looking at a set of Enkei RPF1s running Potenza RE-71R tires. I'm having trouble deciding whether I should get 16 or 17 inch wheels. The RPF1s come in both sizes and the Potenzas are available for both sizes as well.

Any advice on what the pros/cons for each might be would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
218 Posts
17x9 +35 offset rpf1s seem to be a popular choice, usually paired with michelin pilot super sports. 16s are too small, most won't even clear the brakes.

Other than performance upgrades, handling upgrades to help with autocross are upgraded pads/rotors (HPS+ pads, stoptech rotors seem like a good combo) or a big brake kit (Buddyclub, wilwood), stainless steel lines, gutting the rear, removing the spare tire, stiffer coilovers (Buddyclubs recommended).

I don't autocross but I have spent quite some time on this forum lol

·
Registered
989 Posts
What kevvo said.

also i think we're making the assumption that you have an Si.

·
Registered
300 Posts